Published:          26-Nov-'21

eBook ASIN:      B09KQ4HSV9

P/back ISBN:    9798756925586

H/back ISBN:    [To come]

NOW OPEN!

The Zoo of Intelligent Animals - D.A. Holdsworth

(Book 2 of The Cleremont Conjectures)

London, 1977.

Year of the Silver Jubilee, the Sex Pistols – and a spate of unexplained disappearances from across the academic world.

Elizabeth Belfort, a young agent with a stellar career and a stale marriage, is urgently dispatched to bring in an elusive government informant.

But she soon finds herself drawn into the mysterious world of this informant and his family as they embark on a rescue mission. New horizons and new loves start to overturn her well-ordered life. Before long, she is travelling across galaxies to confront an alien race, who’ve taken a special interest in planet Earth and its primary intelligent species. They’ve even made a special home for some of them.

In a zoo.

 

Fast-paced, thrilling and inventive, The Zoo of Intelligent Animals is the prequel to the bestselling How to Buy a Planet. Offering the same combination of satire and adventure, this novel is perfect for fans of Matt Haig, Neil Gaiman, or Erin Morgenstern.

Signed-off-version_eBook_27-11-20.jpg
Selfies sticker.JPG
PT Award Finalist logo.png

Published:       24-Aug-'20

eBook ASIN:   B08G2PTP5N

P/Back ISBN:  9798671128932

H/back ISBN: [To come]

How To Buy A Planet - D.A. Holdsworth

(Book 1 of The Cleremont Conjectures)

SHORTLISTED for The Selfies Fiction Award 2021

'Entertaining and fast-moving' - Una McCormack, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

'Echoes of Douglas Adams... Lots of fun' - Tim Harford, The Undercover Economist 

'What a timely read... Totally mesmerising' - Oxford Daily Information review 

The Earth has been sold to aliens. What could possibly go wrong?

It’s the Year 2024: drowning in debt following the pandemic, and facing ruin, the leaders of the G7 have taken the only logical decision.

 

They’ve sold the planet.

 

When Toby, a penniless student, finds out one morning on TV, he's surprised to find the Earth’s new owners are staggeringly cute and bring the promise of a glorious, debt-free future. He's just getting ready to celebrate along with the rest of the world, when a chance encounter with a mysterious professor reveals the truth. And there’s a glitch: the Earth is about to be destroyed.

With only 24 hours to avert the apocalypse, Toby’s two new flatmates - one paranoid, one gorgeous - drag him on an intergalactic adventure. Battling interplanetary bankers, who trade solar systems like real estate, and pursued by pitiless assassins, the gang find that a deadly virus becomes their only chance of salvation.

Click here to download the first chapter

Goodreads.png

About the Author

D.A.Holdsworth started his career in finance, serving a two-year apprenticeship in fund management during a turbulent period that took in the bursting of the tech bubble and 9-11. From there he switched industry and built a two-decade career in educational publishing, helping to create textbooks and online resources for maths and other subjects.

​For years he resisted the call to writing, until in 2016 he gave in to the inevitable and started work on 'How To Buy A Planet'. Drawing on his experience of the tech crash and then the credit crunch, 'How To Buy A Planet' is both a satire and an adventure, telling the story of three flatmates' quest to rescue the Earth after it's been sold to a consortium of financiers from - shall we say - a long, long way away.

D.A.Holdsworth lives in Oxfordshire with his wife and daughter, and is working on the next book in the series.